U.S. Court Sites

The Federal Court system is comprised of the Supreme Court created by Article III of the U.S. Constitution and lesser courts created by Congress under Article I Section 8 power (for example, see 28 U.S.C. § 43). District courts function as trial courts. The federal system also has trial courts of special and exclusive jurisdiction that decide specific types of controversies such as copyright or bankruptcy issues. Appeals from the district and special courts are taken to the court of appeals for the judicial circuit in which the district court sits--the United States is divided into eleven circuits (plus DC and the special Federal Circuit). Appeals from the circuit courts are taken to the Supreme Court (State court appeals can also be taken to the Supreme court if the case involves a federal question such as a Constitutional issue).

The U.S. Courts were created under Article III of the Constitution to administer justice fairly and impartially, within the jurisdiction established by the Constitution and Congress. This section will help you learn more about the Judicial Branch and its work.

U.S. Supreme Court

U.S. Supreme Court

National Locator

Pacer Case Locator

U.S. Courts of Appeals

First Circuit - NextGen

First Circuit - BAP - NextGen

Second Circuit - NextGen

Third Circuit - NextGen

Fourth Circuit - NextGen

Fifth Circuit - ECF

Sixth Circuit - NextGen

Seventh Circuit - ECF

Eighth Circuit - NextGen

Ninth Circuit - NextGen

Ninth Circuit - BAP - NextGen

Tenth Circuit - NextGen

Tenth Circuit - BAP - NextGen

Eleventh Circuit - ECF

D.C. Circuit - NextGen

Federal Circuit - ECF

Alabama Middle
Alabama Northern
Alabama Southern


Arkansas Eastern
Arkansas Western

California Central
California Eastern
California Northern
California Southern